Tomas Ledin

Genre swedish, seen live, pop, singer-songwriter, Tomas Ledin

Tomas Ledin (born February 25, 1952 in Rätan, Sweden) is a Swedish singer, songwriter, guitarist and producer. He grew up in the town of Sandviken.

Ledin has been one of Sweden's most popular recording artists since the 1970s. He won the Swedish Melodifestivalen in 1980 and represented Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest that year with "Just Nu."

In 1982, he released the duet "Never Again" with Agnetha Fältskog of ABBA fame; the song reached number 1 in Chile and was popular across Europe.

He has been married since 1983 to record company president Marie Ledin.


* 1972 - Restless mind
* 1973 - Hjärtats rytm
* 1975 - Knivhuggarrock
* 1976 - Natten är ung
* 1977 - Tomas Ledin
* 1978 - Fasten seatbelts
* 1978 - Tagen på bar gärning (live album)
* 1979 - Ut på sta'n
* 1980 - Looking for a good time
* 1982 - Gränslös
* 1982 - The Human touch
* 1983 - Captured
* 1985 - En galen kväll (live album)
* 1988 - Down on the Pleasure Avenue
* 1990 - Ett samlingsalbum
* 1990 - Tillfälligheternas spel
* 1993 - Du kan lita på mej
* 1996 - T
* 1997 - Sånger att älska till
* 2000 - Vuodet 1972 – 2000
* 2000 - Djävulen & ängeln
* 2001 - Festen har börjat (samlingsalbum)
* 2002 - Hela vägen
* 2003 - I sommarnattens ljus
* 2003 - Ledin: Just då! (DVD)
* 2004 - Med vidöppna fönster
* 2006 - Plektrum

Eurovision Song Contest 1980 - The Hague
Entry for Sweden

Performer: Tomas Ledin
Song title: Just Nu!
Song writer(s):
Song composer(s): Tomas Ledin

Sang in Position: 8
Final Position: 10
Total Points: 47

The Hague was once more the host city for the song contest after both Israel and the United Kingdom declined to be hosts. Because of the fact that the 1979 winner, Israel, did not have the means of hosting the song contest again, the UK broadcaster BBC was asked if they would be willing to organise the event. They declined, so the Netherlands became the organiser despite the fact that there was not enough time left and Dutch TV NOS had to re-use most of the stage from 1976 when they hosted the contest last. NOS picked April 19th as the date for the song contest, but as this was the Holocaust Memorial Day in Israel, the defending champion decided not to participate which marked the only time when the winner of one Eurovision Song Contest didn't participate in the next.

For the first time in the history of the song contest, an African country - Morocco - participated with Samira, a star in all of the Arabian countries, but when her entry Bitakat Hob ended up at 18th position with just 7 points altogether, Moroccan TV decided that the country should not participate in the contest again.

Turkey returned to the contest after one year's absence and Monaco stayed home which meant that the total amount of participating countries amounted to 19 - just as in 1979. Each country brought along a presenter of its own choice along in order to introduce the song in their native language.

The Irish Johnny Logan who would later be called "Mr. Eurovision" secured Ireland's second victory. The Australian-born singer who only became an Irish citizen after he sang for Ireland in the 1980 contest, would later return and win the contest again in 1987. His 1980 victory brought him a number one hit in the UK and numerous television appearances across Europe. What's another year received seven times the maximum of 12 point votes, ending up with 143 points in total.


Top Tracks

Sommaren är kort 1

Sommaren är kort

En del av mitt hjärta 2

En del av mitt hjärta

I natt är jag din 3

I natt är jag din

Hon gör allt för att göra mig lycklig 4

Hon gör allt för att göra mig lycklig

Vi är på gång 5

Vi är på gång

Just nu 6

Just nu

Sensuella Isabella 7

Sensuella Isabella

En dag på stranden 8

En dag på stranden

Helt galen i dig 9

Helt galen i dig

Snart tystnar musiken 10

Snart tystnar musiken

Top Albums

Tillfälligheternas spel
Tillfälligheternas spel
Tomas Ledin - 80-Tal
Tomas Ledin - 80-Tal
40 år 40 hits Ett samlingsalbum 1972 - 2012
40 år 40 hits Ett samlingsalbum 1972 - 2012